Talking T-Birds Take Top Community College Honors

By: Lisa S. Icenogle
Photo of 2018-2019 Casper College Forensics Team.

The 2018-2019 Casper College Forensics Team poses with their awards from the Trapper Rendezvous held recently in Powell, Wyoming. From left to right: Hannah Arnold, Riverton, Wyoming; Izac Garcia, Cheyenne, Wyoming; William Endelman, Casper; Ryan Bruner, Cheyenne; Chloe Adkins, Box Elder, South Dakota; Thayne Macy, Casper; Rebeca White, Evanston, Wyoming; Kaelan Rodriguez, Casper; Jae Fletcher, Douglas, Wyoming; Carter Dunn, Casper; and Tristan Zamora, Rawlins, Wyoming. Casper College photo.

The Casper College Forensics team, the Talking T-Birds, earned Top Community College honors and finished second place overall at the Trapper Rendezvous in Powell, Wyoming, recently.

Under the direction of Doug Hall, the team also finished second overall as a team behind the University of Utah. Two competitors scored tournament championships: Chloe Adkins, Box Elder, South Dakota, in international public debate and dramatic interpretation; and Carter Dunn, Casper, in informative speaking.

Other placements at the Trapper Rendezvous included Tristan Zamora, Rawlins, Wyoming, fifth in prose; Izac Garcia, Cheyenne, Wyoming, finalist in program oral interpretation and international public debate quarterfinalist; Jae Fletcher, Douglas, Wyoming, POI finalist and IPDA quarterfinalist; Kaelan Rodriguez, Casper, second in poetry.

In addition to their tournament championships, Adkins was a finalist in both impromptu and extemporaneous speaking, and Dunn was an IPDA semifinalist and took second in impromptu speaking and third in extemporaneous speaking.

“The bright spot in these results, among others, is that of the eight quarterfinalist slots in IPDA, the T-Birds earned five of those slots. The coaching staff is really proud of this very young team and their showing over the weekend,” said Hall, communication instructor and director of forensics.

The team will next travel to Colorado College in Colorado Springs, Colorado, on October 19 to compete in the Al Johnson Memorial Tournament.

Media contact: Lisa S. Icenogle

If you enjoyed this story, receive more just like it: