Administrator of the Year to be Chosen from Four Quarterly Winners

By: Lisa S. Icenogle

Apr 9, 2018 | Uncategorized

The 2017-2018 Casper College Administrator of the Year will be chosen from the 2017-2018 Casper College Quarterly Outstanding Administrator winners.

The first-quarter winner was Brad Matthies, Goodstein Foundation Library Director. Nominated by Sarah Mailloux, librarian, Matthies began working at the college on June 4, 2012. In her nomination letter, Mailloux noted that Matthies’ leadership and sense of humor had made the library a great place to work, research, or relax. “At any given time, a stroll through the library will reveal students, staff, and community members reading, working on computers, playing games, or participating in the odd library shenanigan. He’s always willing to entertain new ideas and let us try innovative programming,” she said.

Second-quarter winner Jenny Howie was nominated by Kyla Foltz, director of admissions services. Howie, a systems programmer, began her career at Casper College on July 20, 2015. “Outstanding professionalism is a great description for the performance and natural approach that I have observed in my colleague Jenny Howie,” said Foltz of her nomination, adding that Howie “has been an efficient and effective contributor to many projects that I have been involved within the last several years. I have been amazed and appreciative of her work ethic. She has great ideas about how to improve processes and make systems better for students.”

Linda Nichols, registrar, has worked for Casper College since October 17, 1996. Nominator Linda Toohey noted that third-quarter winner Nichols “has grown professionally, to become a well-respected member of the campus community and a leader in the region with her peers.” According to Toohey, “faculty appreciate working with Linda because of her high degree of integrity. She has built trust across campus with faculty, coaches and staff. … and leads the efforts with international students (who) trust and rely on Linda to be sure they are in compliance, eligible for athletics, and prepared for transfer as they graduate from Casper College,” said Toohey.

The fourth-quarter winner, Mike McLemore, began with the college on Sept. 1, 1999. During his time as a staff employee, McLemore was honored with the Robert O. Durst Classified Staff Award in 2012. Crystal Watts, digital learning AV specialist, nominated McLemore and noted in her nomination letter McLemore’s professionalism, efficiency, problem-solving, and ability to handle his administrative responsibilities and challenges. “Mike fosters mutual trust and support during his interactions with others, praises and gives credit to those deserving, and is always very respectful to all. Mike models, on a daily basis, the kind of administrator I hope to someday be,” she said.

The Casper College Outstanding Administrator Award is designed to recognize an administrator who demonstrates an outstanding service reputation that includes job performance, knowledge, effectiveness, character, communication, cooperation, judgment, and interactions. In addition, each nominee must have completed a minimum of two years of service as an administrator at Casper College and have not received the honor during the previous five years. The winner will be announced at the Casper College Retirement and Recognition Dinner on May 4 and will receive $1,000.

Media contact: Lisa S. Icenogle

If you enjoyed this story, receive more just like it: